2014 prizes for excellence in gender research

The annual Gender Institute prizes for excellence in gender research in 2014 were announced at the Gender Institute 4th anniversary event in March 2015. The Prizes were presented by ANU Vice Chancellor, Professor Ian Young AO.


Honours thesis:

  • Bianca HennessyMelanesian Women’s Groups: Representations of Agency, Asia-Pacific Studies (Honours), supervised by Dr Katerina Teaiwa





Masters thesis:

  • Elizabeth CowanNon-tradition aspirations versus gendered expectations: Young women’s journeys towards empowerment in modern Timor-Leste, Master of Applied Anthropology and Participatory Development (Gender specialisation), supervised by Dr Patrick Kilby




PhD thesis:

  • Mei-Ling Ellerman, Subordination at Work: Chinese Female Domestic Workers’ Struggles between Silence and Critical Consciousness, Department of Political and Social Change, School of International, Political and Strategic Studies, supervised by Dr Tamara Jacka who accepted the award in Mei-Ling's absence.



Prizes were not awarded for the journal article category for 2014.





ANU, Gender Institute

Date posted

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Event type

Awards ceremony

Updated:  7 November 2012/Responsible Officer:  Convenor, Gender Institute/Page Contact:  Web manager, Gender Institute