Gender Institute 6th anniversary event

Presenter/s: ANU Gender Institute

Event type: Signature event

Event date: Friday, 5 May 2017 - 9:00am to 12:30pm

Event venue: China in the World Auditorium and Lotus Hall, ANU

The ANU Gender Institute had a great time celebrating its its sixth anniversary on Friday 5 May 2017 in the China in the World Auditorium and would like to thank all ANU staff and students and our guests beyond the ANU for their enthusiastic participation.

We especially acknowledge the excellent presentations by Vice-Chancellor Brian Schmidt who talked about the relation between gender equity, knowledge and gendered notions of excellence and by Pro-Vice-Chancellor (University Experience) Richard Baker who gave us a fine distillation on the progress of the SAGE and the Male Champions of Change programs to enhance gender equity at ANU. It was also good to welcome other ANU staff from Chancelry, Human Resources and Deans and Directors. We applauded the past and future support offered by alumnus Richard Miller to enhance gender equity at ANU, in particular for women in the fields of medicine and health.

We also awarded the following prizes to three stellar ANU researchers for theses awarded and articles published in 2016: 

  • Isabel Mudford, Best Honours thesis, Think of the Children: The ‘Safe Schools’ Debate and the Maintenance of the Closet.
  • Siobhan McDonnell, Best PhD Thesis, My Land, My Life: Power, Property and Identity in Land Transformations in Vanuatu.
  • Joyce Das, Best article by a Higher Degree Research student, Good laws, bad outcomes: land rights and inheritance practices for Christian women in Bangladesh.

Professor Margaret Jolly's presentation is available below.

Post event media:

Professor Margaret Jolly, ANU Gender Institute Convenor.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt.

ANU Pro-Vice Chancellor (University Experience) Richard Baker.


Graduate student Hmalan Hunter-Xenie delivered the Acknowledgement of Country.

Honours prize recipient, Isabel Mudford receives her prize from ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt. Congratulations!

Best Article recipient Joyce Das receives her prize from ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt. Congratulations!

PhD Prize recipient Siobhan McDonnell receives her prize from ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt. Congratulations!


Return to top

» podcast (mp3, 110 MB)


Updated:  7 November 2012/Responsible Officer:  Convenor, Gender Institute/Page Contact:  Web manager, Gender Institute