End-of-year message

Dear Friends of the ANU Gender Institute,

Thank you for all your support and engagement with the Gender Institute throughout 2018. So much skill, hard work and passion have gone into the research, workshops, lectures, dialogues and public outreach our Institute has generated this year.

We had a fabulous time celebrating another great year for the Institute at our end-of-year celebration and prize-giving ceremony in mid-November. We especially acknowledge the excellent presentations by Vice-Chancellor Brian Schmidt, Sharon Bell, Elanor Huntington and Steve Blackburn and our prize winners, Ashley Thomson and Briony Lipton. Podcast, photographs and presentations can be found here.

During this event, Siobhan McDonnell launched the Navigating the Field website, the result of an inaugural course focused on the challenges of field research, including issues of gender, positionality and experiences of sexual harassment and violence. Find out more here.

This year we initiated a series of inaugural professorial lectures, the Gender Institute Inspiring Women of ANU, to celebrate female academic staff at ANU who were appointed to Level E in the last round of promotions. To watch the video recordings of the lectures and learn more about these inspiring women and their work, simply follow the links by clicking on each name: Simone Dennis, Kuntala Lahiri-Dutt, Carolyn Strange, Sharon Bessell and Pauline Ridge.

My special thanks to Laura Jayne Robinson and Mitiana Arbon, our administrators, and to the past convenors Fiona Jenkins and Kim Rubenstein, who sometimes deputised for me in my absence, for their support and advice. Heartfelt thanks also to the members of our Management Committee in 2018: Céline d’Orgeville, Frank Bongiorno, Wayne Morgan, Penny King, Rob Lanfear, Meghan Miller and Hyaeweol Choi. We will be meeting again in February 2019 to decide on prizes for undergraduate and graduate students. 

We congratulate all of our members for their hard work and success in teaching, research and outreach in 2018. Many of our members were promoted or received grants, fellowships or awards for excellence. Rather than name them all personally we offer our collective congratulations.

Please note that the deadline to submit applications for our second round of funding in 2018 is 6 December 2018. Application form and guidelines are available here. Also, note that the deadline for submissions for the 2018 prizes for excellence in gender and sexuality research is 14 January 2019. Application form and guidelines can be found here.

This is the last newsletter of the year. The Gender Institute will effectively be closed from 21 December 2018 until 4 February 2019. Any urgent queries about grants or prizes in this time period can be directed to the Convenor, Margaret Jolly, at her personal address margaret.jolly@anu.edu.au, although she is on annual leave. Note that responses might be delayed for this reason.

With warm wishes for joy and peace in this holiday season,

Margaret Jolly, Gender Institute Convenor




Gender Institute

Date posted

Monday, 3 December 2018

Updated:  7 November 2012/Responsible Officer:  Convenor, Gender Institute/Page Contact:  Web manager, Gender Institute