Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Member news

Special issue of Life Writing edited by Kasia Williams

Following a workshop supported by a Gender Institute grant and hosted at ANUCES, Kasia Williams has edited a special issue of Life Writing, focusing on Displaced Women: Eastern European Post-War Narratives in Australia.

Beth Beckmann appointed to the ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Women

Gender Institute member Beth Beckmann has been appointed to the 2014-16 ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Women.

Gendered Excellence in the Social Sciences

The Gender Institute would like to congratulate members Dr Fiona Jenkins, Dr Helen Keane and Professor Marian Sawer, who have won funding for an ARC Discovery project "Gendered Excellence in the Social Sciences".

Putting her active gender and citizenship research into practice

Professor Kim Rubenstein considers a recent petition initiative a reminder of the active citizenship made possible by the suffragettes of the 1890s.

Congratulations to ARC Future Fellows

Congratulations to Gender Institute members Dr Susan Harris Rimmer and Dr Julie Smith who are among 16 ARC Future Fellowship recipients at ANU announced last week.

ANU engineer honoured at Women in Industry awards

Dr Naomi Mathers, Industry Liaison Engineer at the ANU Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics, received two awards at the Women in Industry awards ceremony held in Sydney on June 26.

ANU appoints new Public Policy fellows

Congratulations to Gender Institute members Professor Lorraine Elliott and Emeritus Professor Marian Sawer who are among the recent round of appointments to the ANU Crawford School's Public Policy Fellows program.

Congratulations to Gender Institute member Lorraine Elliot

Newly appointed Public Policy Fellow Professor Lorraine Elliot confirmed as Chair-elect of the Academic Council on the UN System (ACUNS).

Congratulations to Gender Institute member Dr Richard Eves

Dr Richard Eves (State, Society and Governance in Melanesia Program, CAP) in collaboration International Women’s Development Agency (IWDA) has recently secured $500,000 funding from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade for the research project: Do No Harm: Understanding the Relationshi

Book of the Year - The Sex lives of Australians: A History

Congratulations to Frank Bongiorno, Associate Professor in the School of History, and Gender Institute member, on being awarded the 2013 ACT Book of the Year.


Subscribe to Member news

Updated:  7 November 2012/Responsible Officer:  Convenor, Gender Institute/Page Contact:  Web manager, Gender Institute