Member news

Dr Catherine Bishop takes out prestigious $30,000 Ashurst business literature prize

Congratulations to Dr Catherine Bishop who has just been awarded the prestigious Ashurst Business Literature Prize for 2016 for her debut book Minding Her Own Business: Colonial Businesswomen in Sydney.

The value of transgender: Waria affective labor for transnational media markets in Indonesia

Gender Institute member Benjamin Hegarty has published an article in Transgender Studies Quarterly exploring the mass media representation of male-to-female transgender-identified waria in Indonesia.

The Performance in mixed-sex and single-sex tournaments: What we can learn from speedboat races in Japan

Professor Alison Booth (Economics, ANU) and Professor Eiji Yamamura (Economics, Seinan Gaikun University) explore how differences in attitudes to competition or risk may contribute to explaining gender gaps in wages and other labour market outcomes by analysing performance data from speedboat races in Japan.

The golden age of female philosophy

Gender Institute committee member and former convenor Associate Professor Fiona Jenkins, School of Philosophy, was a guest this week on a special International Women's Day episode of The Philosopher's Zone

ANU to help measure global gender data gaps in poverty

Gender Institute members Associate Professor Sharon Bessell and Associate Professor Janet Hunt are leading ANU's research team that will partner with the International Women's Development Agency and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in a new $9.5 million project to develop a world-first gender-sensitive and multidimensional individual measure of poverty.

GI congratulates Patrick Kilby on fellowship success

Congratulations to Gender Institute member Patrick Kilby, who has just received a Fulbright Senior scholarship and an East-West Center Asia Studies Fellowship.

ARC success for Gender Institute members

Congratulations to Gender Institute members who have been awarded Australian Research Council (ARC) funding, announced this week.

Ann McGrath wins NSW Premier’s History Award for her book 'Illicit Love'

Congratulations to the ANU Australian Centre for Indigenous History Director, Professor Ann McGrath, who won the 2016 NSW Premier’s History Award in the general history category for her book Illicit Love: Interracial sex and marriage in the United States and Australia.

Gender bias in Australian media

New research from PhD candidate and Gender Institute member Blair Williams, from the ANU School of Politics and International Studies, has found significant gender bias in Australia's political media.

Dr Carolyn Strange and Professor Melanie Nolan elected social science fellows

Gender Institute members Dr Carolyn Strange and Professor Melanie Nolan are among nine senior academics from ANU who have been elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of the Social Sciences.


Subscribe to Member news

Updated:  7 November 2012/Responsible Officer:  Convenor, Gender Institute/Page Contact:  Web manager, Gender Institute